Milwaukee sales tax starts Monday

The city of Milwaukee’s two percent sales tax and Milwaukee County’s 0.9 percent sales tax go into effect January 1.

The Wisconsin Departement of Revenue has issued a fact sheet for both buyers and sellers detailing procedures for filing sales and use tax returns, as well as exceptions and other rules.

The local sales taxes will be collected in addition to the state’s five percent sales tax on most non-grocery purchases. Both were enabled by state law earlier this year and approved by the Milwaukee Common Council and Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors in July.