Featured Life & culture News

Winston-Sage named dean of spiritual and religious life at Lawrence University

Rev. Terra Winston-Sage. Photo courtesy Lawrence University.

The Rev. Terra Winston-Sage has been appointed Lawrence University’s next Julie Esch Hurvis Dean of Spiritual and Religious Life and university chaplain, the university announced in a press release Monday.

Winston-Sage, a 2000 graduate of Lawrence who has served as associate dean since 2018, will provide leadership and counsel in the alignment of social justice and faith and the facilitation of student conversations about spirituality, faith development, religious diversity, and community building. She will also provide pastoral care as well as assist with memorial gatherings.

Winston-Sage, an ordained Presbyterian minister who earned a bachelor’s degree in religious studies at Lawrence, said this new role continues the fulfillment of a dream that began in 2018 when she returned to campus to work with Lawrence’s diverse student body.

“My experience has taught me how important it is to show up with sincerity, grounding, and openness to meet people where they are along their spiritual journey,” she said in a statement.

Winston-Sage, a native of Shaker Heights, Ohio, brings a wealth of experience and diverse perspective – as a Lawrence student, alumna, and in various professional roles, including serving with Community Peacemaker Teams, an international organization, and developing organization-wide strategic directions and collaborative congregational outreach efforts.

After earning her degree from Lawrence, Winston-Sage earned a Master of Religious Studies degree from the University of Chicago, a Master of Divinity degree from the McCormick Theological Seminary, and a Master of Theology degree from the Princeton Theological Seminary.

Her appointment follows the retirement of the Rev. Linda Morgan-Clement, who joined Lawrence’s administration in 2016 as the university’s first dean of spiritual and religious life. She is retiring at the close of the academic year on June 30.